Search

L'Évaluation et la Stratégie Nationales de la Durabilité du Bœuf

Mesurer la performance en matière de durabilité, fixer des objectifs stratégiques et identifier les domaines d'amélioration en se basant sur des données scientifiques solides, sont tous des domaines clés dans lesquels la TRCBD mène des initiatives de durabilité pour l'industrie canadienne du bœuf.

L'Évaluation

La première Évaluation nationale de la durabilité du bœuf, connue sous le nom ENDB, a été publiée en 2016 (basée sur les données de 2014) et a fourni une base de référence pour évaluer les progrès de la performance environnementale, sociale et économique au fil du temps. Cette deuxième évaluation, publiée en 2024 (basée sur les données de 2021) est la première à mesurer les changements par rapport à cette base de référence, et sert de point de repère sur le parcours de l'industrie canadienne du bœuf vers ses objectifs de 2030.

Check out the details on our progress and sustainability performance on specific topics across the three pillars of beef sustainability:

La Stratégie

Une stratégie de durabilité accompagne l'évaluation et sert de carte routière pour aider à atteindre les objectifs de l'industrie pour 2030. Les mesures stratégiques ont été élaborées à partir des commentaires de nos membres et des intervenants de l'industrie, et leur mise en œuvre nécessitera un effort de collaboration à travers l'ensemble de la chaîne d'approvisionnement.

Apprenez-en davantage sur nos performances actuelles en matière de durabilité ci-dessous, ainsi que plus de détails sur les mesures environnementales, sociales et économiques .

Des mises à jour sur les progrès réalisés et des exemples de réussite seront ajoutés de temps à autre. Pour en savoir plus sur notre [link to goals and strategy page] stratégie de durabilité et nos priorités de recherche.

Performance en Matière de Durabilité

La diminution de l'empreinte GES du bœuf canadien

Le bœuf canadien et l'utilisation des terres

Le bœuf canadien est essentiel pour la biodiversité

Le bœuf canadien stocke le carbone

Équivalence de stockage de carbone pour le bœuf canadien

Le bœuf canadien et l'habitat faunique

La sécurité à la ferme s'améliore

La gestion de la main- d'œuvre dans l'industrie du bœuf

La santé mentale et physique sont importantes

Le bœuf canadien et la création d'emplois

Le bœuf canadien en demande

Le bœuf canadien et l'économie canadienne

fr_CAFrench

La diminution de l'empreinte GES du bœuf canadien

L'industrie canadienne du bœuf a fait de grands progrès dans l'augmentation de l'efficacité de sa production pour réduire son empreinte carbone, qui englobe les contributions du méthane entérique, de la gestion du fumier et de la production d'aliments pour animaux, ainsi que des contributeurs plus petits, notamment le transport, la litière, l'eau, l'énergie et le pâturage.

Amener 1 kg de bœuf désossé de la ferme à votre assiette produit 15% de GES de moins qu’en 2014, en bonne voie pour atteindre l'objectif de l'industrie canadienne du bœuf de réduire de 33 % l'intensité de ses émissions d'ici 2030.

COMMENT?

Les bovins ont augmenté leur consommation d'aliments et leur efficacité alimentaire, ce qui se traduit par une croissance plus rapide et une réduction du temps nécessaire pour atteindre le poids du marché. Cela signifie que moins de ressources (terre, aliments, eau) sont nécessaires pour produire un animal.

Étant donné qu'il faut moins de temps et de ressources pour produire chaque animal, les émissions globales de GES diminuent par kg de bœuf désossé consommé, ce qui se traduit par une empreinte carbone plus faible (parallèlement à l'amélioration d'autres indicateurs environnementaux : épuisement des combustibles fossiles, eutrophisation de l'eau douce et formation d'oxydants photochimiques).

Il s'agit d'un progrès significatif auquel contribue l'ensemble de la chaîne d'approvisionnement et qui nous met sur la bonne voie pour atteindre l'objectif du secteur, à savoir une réduction de 33 % de l'intensité des émissions d'ici à 2030.

Le bœuf canadien et l'utilisation des terres

L'occupation des terres agricoles est déterminée en quantifiant les terres utilisées pour perturber le sol ou l'habitat (m2 éq. culture annuelle). L'utilisation des terres est calculée sur la base de la durée de vie de l'animal - pour les besoins de pâturage et d'alimentation.

Au Canada, la production de bœuf utilise actuellement 40 % des terres agricoles, dont 84 % sont des pâturages. Sur le reste, 7 % sont utilisés pour la culture du foin et seulement 8 % sont des terres cultivées (7 % d'orge et 1 % d'autres cultures fourragères).

En outre, seulement 9 % des terres cultivées du Canada sont utilisées pour produire des aliments destinés à la production de bœuf.

Le bœuf canadien est essentiel pour la biodiversité. POURQUOI ?

La production de bœuf s'étend sur l'ensemble du pays et englobe une variété d'écosystèmes à travers le paysage. S'il est important de tenir compte de la superficie des terres utilisées, il est essentiel de préserver la santé d'un écosystème important (et menacé) au Canada : les prairies indigènes. Par conséquent, l'évaluation de la biodiversité et de la séquestration du carbone est un élément important pour considérer la durabilité environnementale globale.

Si l'on considère l'ensemble des terres cultivées et des pâturages du Canada :

  • Les terres utilisées pour la production de bœuf fournissent la majorité de l'habitat essentiel dont la faune a besoin pour la reproduction (74 %) et l'alimentation (55 %).
  • Alors que la capacité globale des habitats fauniques au Canada a diminué en raison de la conversion des terres, la part de l'industrie du bœuf dans la capacité restante a augmenté. Le pâturage des bovins est essentiel à la préservation de l'habitat et au maintien de la biodiversité.

Au Canada, la plupart des prairies indigènes et pâturages restants sont gérés par des producteurs de bœuf, et il existe un lien étroit entre la biodiversité et les terres utilisées par le bétail. PAR CONSÉQUENT, le pâturage des bovins est un outil essentiel pour préserver l'habitat et soutenir la biodiversité.

Le bœuf canadien stocke le carbone

Le rôle des bovins en pâturage au Canada dans la préservation du carbone stocké dans le sol ne peut être sous-estimé. On estime que les terres utilisées pour la production de bœuf, dont 84 % sont des pâturages, contiennent 1,9 milliard de tonnes de carbone organique du sol, ce qui équivaut à peu près aux émissions annuelles de plus d'un demi-milliard de voitures.

 

La majeure partie du carbone se trouve dans les prairies indigènes, ce qui souligne l'importance de conserver ces terres intactes, afin de maintenir leur stock de carbone et d'empêcher la libération de carbone dans l'atmosphère.

En outre, l'utilisation des terres et les pratiques de gestion bénéfiques peuvent renforcer le stockage du carbone dans les sols et contribuer à compenser les émissions dues à la production de bœuf. Les pratiques de gestion des prairies - telles que le pâturage en rotation - qui augmentent l'accumulation nette de carbone dans les prairies sont nécessaires car elles ont le potentiel de minimiser l'augmentation de la concentration de dioxyde de carbone dans l'atmosphère. Si l'on tient compte des compensations, on estime que l'empreinte carbone nette de la production de bœuf dans l'ouest du Canada diminuera de 6 %.

L'équivalent en stockage de carbone du bœuf canadien

Le rôle des bovins en pâturage au Canada dans la préservation du carbone stocké dans le sol ne peut être sous-estimé. On estime que les terres utilisées pour la production de bœuf, dont 84 % sont des pâturages, contiennent 1,9 milliard de tonnes de carbone organique du sol 1 .

Cela équivaut à peu près aux émissions de CO2 de plus en plus de deux milliards de véhicules de tourisme sur une année entière - soit les émissions de 17 véhicules par Canadien!2

Cela représente également presque le triple des émissions de carbone annuelles [2021] de l'ensemble du Canada.3


Le bœuf canadien et l'habitat faunique

Au Canada, 545 espèces sauvages (332 oiseaux, 134 mammifères, 41 amphibiens et 38 reptiles) utilisent les terres agricoles pour se nourrir et se reproduire. L'incapacité des terres cultivées à satisfaire à elles seules les besoins en habitat de la plupart des espèces sauvages démontre l'importance des terres, y compris les prairies indigènes, les pâturages non améliorés, les forêts, les zones humides forestières, les zones humides et l'eau dans les paysages agricoles canadiens.

Si l'on considère l'ensemble des cultures et des pâturages du Canada, les terres utilisées pour la production de bœuf fournissent la majorité des habitats essentiels dont les animaux sauvages ont besoin pour se reproduire (74 %) et se nourrir (55 %).1

La capacité totale d'habitat faunique au Canada a diminué en raison des changements d'utilisation des terres - en particulier la conversion des pâturages indigènes en terres cultivées - et de l'étalement urbain. À mesure que les animaux sauvages quittent ces zones converties, la proportion de la capacité d'habitat attribuée aux terres consacrées à la production de bœuf a augmenté.

Cela montre que la contribution de la production de bœuf au maintien des terres fortement utilisées pour la reproduction et l'alimentation de nombreuses espèces est essentielle au maintien de la capacité faunique au Canada.

*crédit d'image: Canards Illimités Canada

1 CRSB National Beef Sustainability Assessment – Environmental and Social Assessment, 2024 (CRSB NBSA, 2024a)

La sécurité agricole s'améliore

La santé et la sécurité au travail concernent la promotion et le maintien du plus haut degré de bien-être physique, mental et social, ainsi que les capacités de toutes les personnes impliquées dans les opérations de l'entreprise, y compris les employés, mais aussi les producteurs et les personnes vivant à la ferme.

  • L'adoption d'une approche de gestion adaptative en ce qui concerne la formation et l'utilisation de l'équipement pourrait améliorer de manière significative la sensibilisation aux dangers et la sécurité auto-déclarées.
  • Le taux annuel moyen d'accidents mortels dans l'agriculture a diminué de 1,4 % chaque année depuis 1990.1

La sensibilisation et la préparation à la santé et à la sécurité dans les exploitations agricoles augmentent. Il serait utile de mettre l'accent sur la formation et l'accès à des équipements de sécurité appropriés.


Gestion de la main-d'œuvre dans l'industrie du bœuf

La gestion de la main-d'œuvre fait référence aux conditions de travail des personnes travaillant tout au long de la chaîne d'approvisionnement et à la manière dont ces conditions contribuent à la santé humaine, aux lieux de travail durables et aux communautés.

Les intervenants de l'industrie reconnaissent clairement la valeur de la main-d'œuvre embauchée et la nécessité d'une amélioration continue des pratiques de recrutement et de rétention socialement responsables, telles que les avantages sociaux et les salaires, ainsi que les possibilités de développement professionnel.
 
Le déficit de main-d'œuvre dans l'industrie canadienne du bœuf a augmenté de 4 196 travailleurs entre 2017 et 2022 et devrait atteindre 13 998 d'ici 2029.
 

Les résultats suggèrent que les défis liés à la disponibilité, au recrutement et à la rétention de la main-d'œuvre augmentent la charge de travail, avec des répercussions négatives potentielles sur les personnes travaillant dans l'industrie. Des politiques et des programmes visant à aider les intervenants concernés à atténuer ces difficultés permettraient de réduire les risques.

La santé physique et mentale sont importantes

La santé et la sécurité au travail concernent la promotion et le maintien du plus haut degré de bien-être physique, mental et social, ainsi que les capacités de toutes les personnes impliquées dans les opérations de l'entreprise, y compris les employés, mais aussi les producteurs et les personnes vivant à la ferme.

La charge de travail est classée parmi les cinq principaux facteurs de stress pour les éleveurs de bovins.

Les conversations positives sur le stress et la santé mentale ont augmenté, ce qui a permis de sensibiliser les gens et de réduire la stigmatisation des problèmes de santé mentale.

Des organisations telles que Do More Ag, parmi beaucoup d'autres, augmentent les ressources pour aider les éleveurs, et un accès plus large à ces ressources aidera les producteurs à travers le pays.

Le bœuf canadien et la création d'emplois

La durabilité économique est définie comme la capacité d'un système à maintenir sa productivité face à une perturbation majeure, ainsi qu'à l'évolution des préférences des consommateurs.

La recherche suggère que pour chaque travailleur employé par la production de bovins au niveau de la ferme au Canada, 2,5 travailleurs sont employés directement ou indirectement dans l'économie canadienne.

La durabilité de l'industrie du bœuf est donc impérative pour le bien-être et les moyens de subsistance des milliers de Canadiens employés tout au long de la chaîne de valeur,
ainsi que pour les millions de consommateurs canadiens qui demandent des options protéiniques sûres, de haute qualité et nutritives.

Le bœuf canadien en demande

La résilience des consommateurs est la capacité des consommateurs à soutenir la chaîne d'approvisionnement du bœuf canadien, malgré les défis qui peuvent survenir.

La demande des consommateurs est le moteur ultime du développement à long terme de l'industrie bovine. Une industrie bovine durable évolue avec le marché de la consommation et répond aux changements dans les préférences des consommateurs. Il s'agit notamment d'identifier les modes qui sont devenues des tendances et de veiller à ce que les systèmes soient mis en place pour répondre à ces demandes des consommateurs.

Les tendances à long terme, les perceptions à moyen terme et les répercussions à court terme sur le marché ont été évaluées pour déterminer la demande des consommateurs pour le bœuf canadien.

Tendances à long terme : augmentation de la classe moyenne et évolution de la démographie des consommateurs avec une urbanisation accrue ;

Les perceptions à moyen terme sont influencées par la sensibilisation à l'alimentation, y compris les perceptions de la sécurité alimentaire, de la qualité du bœuf, de la nutrition et du caractère sain du bœuf.

Les changements à court terme peuvent être dus aux prix et à la disponibilité de protéines de substitution.

La demande mondiale de protéines est forte en général, avec la croissance de la population et des revenus disponibles, et le choix des protéines animales traditionnelles est fort. En Amérique du Nord, nous avons assisté à un pic des protéines de substitution et la demande est maintenant en baisse.
Les producteurs de bœuf canadiens soutiennent la demande grâce à l'augmentation des volumes de bœuf canadien produit selon les normes AAA et Prime.

La contribution du bœuf canadien à l'économie canadienne

Le secteur canadien de l'élevage bovin apporte une contribution essentielle à l'économie canadienne :

  • 51,6 milliards $ en production de biens et de services,
  • 21,8 milliards $ au PIB canadien et
  • 11,7 milliards $ en revenus du travail chaque année.

La durabilité de l'industrie du bœuf est donc impérative pour le bien-être et les moyens de subsistance des milliers de Canadiens employés tout au long de la chaîne de valeur, livelihoods of thousands of Canadians employed throughout the value chain as well as the millions of Canadian consumers demanding safe, high quality, and nutritious protein options.

Search

The National Beef Sustainability Assessment & Strategy

Measuring sustainability performance, setting strategic goals and identifying areas for improvement based on sound science, are all key areas where the CRSB leads sustainability initiatives for the Canadian beef industry.

The Assessment

The first National Beef Sustainability Assessment, known as the NBSA, was published in 2016 (based on 2014 data) and provided a baseline for evaluating progress in environmental, social and economic performance over time. This second assessment, published in 2024 (based on 2021 data) is the first to measure changes against that baseline, and serves as a benchmark on the Canadian beef industry’s journey towards its 2030 goals.

Read more detail about our progress and sustainability performance on specific topics across the three pillars of beef sustainability.

The Strategy

A Sustainability Strategy accompanies the assessment and serves as a roadmap to help guide achievement of the industry’s 2030 goals. Strategic action items have been developed through input from our members and industry stakeholders and will take a collaborative effort across the supply chain to achieve them.

Learn more about our current sustainability performance below, and further detail on environmental, social and economic metrics.

Progress updates and success stories will be added from time to time. Learn more about our [link to goals & strategy page] Sustainability Strategy and Research Priorities.

Sustainability Performance

Canadian Beef’s Shrinking GHG Footprint

Canadian Beef & Land Use

Canadian Beef Critical for Biodiversity

Canadian Beef Storing
Carbon

Canadian Beef Carbon Storage - what it means

Canadian Beef and Wildlife Habitat

Farm Safety Is Improving

Labour Management in the Beef Industry

Mental and Physical Health are Important

Canadian Beef and Job Creation

Canadian Beef in Demand

Canadian Beef and the Canadian Economy.

Canadian Beef’s Shrinking Greenhouse Gas Footprint

The Canadian beef industry has made great strides in increasing its production efficiency to reduce its carbon footprint, which encompasses contributions from enteric methane, manure management and feed production, and from smaller contributors including transport, bedding, water, energy and grazing.

Bringing 1 kg of boneless beef from the farm gate to your plate produces 15% less GHGs compared to 2014, on track towards the Canadian beef industry’s goal of a 33% reduction in emissions intensity by 2030.

HOW?

Cattle have increased their feed intake and feed efficiency, leading to faster growth and reduced time needed to reach market weight. This means less resources (land, feed, water) are needed to produce an animal.

Since less time and resources was needed to produce each animal, the overall GHG emissions decreased per kg of boneless beef, consumed – leading to a smaller carbon footprint (alongside improvements in other environmental indicators; fossil fuel depletion, freshwater eutrophication and photochemical oxidant formation).

This is significant progress contributed by the whole supply chain and puts us on the right path to achieve the industry’s goal of a 33% emissions intensity reduction by 2030.

Canadian Beef and Land Use

Agriculture land occupation is determined by quantifying land used disturbing soil or habitat (m2 annual crop eq.). Land use is calculated based on the lifetime of the animal – for grazing and feed requirements.  

In Canada, beef production currently utilizes 40% of agricultural land, of which 84% is pasture. Of the remaining, 7% is used for growing hay and only 8% is cropland (7% barley and 1% other feed crops). 

Additionally, only 9% of Canada’s total cropland is used to grow feed for beef production.

Canadian Beef is Critical for Biodiversity

Beef production spans the entire country and encompasses a variety of ecosystems across the landscape. While considering the amount of land used is important, maintaining the health of an important [and endangered] ecosystem in Canada – native grasslands – is critical. Therefore, assessing biodiversity and carbon sequestration is an important piece to view overall environmental sustainability.

When considering all of Canada’s crop and pastureland:

  • Land used for beef production contributes the majority of critical habitat that wildlife need for reproduction (74%) and feeding (55%). 
  • While Canada’s overall wildlife habitat capacity has decreased due to land conversion, the beef industry’s share of the remaining capacity has increased. Grazing cattle is critical to preserving habitat and supporting biodiversity. 

In Canada, most of the remaining native grasslands and pasture are under the care of beef producers, and there is a strong link between biodiversity and land used by cattle. THEREFORE, grazing cattle is a critical tool in preserving habitat and supporting biodiversity.

Canadian Beef Storing Carbon

The role of grazing cattle in Canada in preserving carbon stored in the soil cannot be understated. Land used for beef production, of which 84% is pasture, is estimated to hold 1.9 billion tonnes of soil organic carbon – this is roughly equivalent to the annual emissions from over two billion cars.

 

The majority of carbon is held in native grasslands – highlighting the importance to keep this land intact, which would maintain its carbon stock, and prevent release of carbon into the atmosphere.

In addition, land use and beneficial management practices can further enhance soil carbon storage and can help offset emissions from beef production. Grassland management practices – such as rotational grazing – that increase net accumulation of carbon in grasslands are needed as they have the potential to minimize the rising concentration of atmospheric carbon dioxide. When offsets are taken into consideration the net carbon footprint of beef production in western Canada is estimated to decrease by 6%.

Canadian Beef’s Carbon Storage Equivalent

The role of grazing cattle in Canada in preserving carbon stored in the soil cannot be understated. Land used for beef production, of which 84% is pasture, is estimated to hold 1.9 billion tonnes of soil organic carbon.1

This is roughly equivalent to the CO2 emissions of over two billion passenger vehicles – that’s emissions from 58 vehicles per Canadian!2

This carbon storage is equivalent to over 10x annual carbon emissions from all of Canada.3


Canadian Beef and Wildlife Habitat

In Canada, there are 545 wildlife species (332 birds, 134 mammals, 41 amphibians and 38 reptiles) that use agricultural land for feeding and reproduction. The inability of cropland alone to fulfill habitat requirements for most wildlife species demonstrates the importance of land including native grassland, unimproved pasture, forest, forest wetland, wetland and water in Canadian agricultural landscapes. 

When considering all of Canada’s crop and pastureland, land used for beef production contributes the majority of critical habitat that wildlife need for reproduction (74%) and feeding (55%).1

Total wildlife habitat capacity in Canada has shrunk due to land use change – specifically native pasture being converted to cropland – and urban sprawl. As the wildlife move off these converted areas the proportion of habitat capacity attributed to beef land has increased.

This showcases that the contribution of beef production to maintaining land heavily used for reproduction and feeding of many species is vital in maintaining Canada’s wildlife capacity.

*photo credit: Ducks Unlimited Canada

1 CRSB National Beef Sustainability Assessment – Environmental and Social Assessment, 2024 (CRSB NBSA, 2024a)

Farm Safety is Improving

Health and safety at work concerns the promotion and maintenance of the highest degree of physical, mental and social well-being, and capabilities of all individuals involved in business operations, including employees but also producers and the people living on the farm.

  • Taking an adaptive management approach to training and equipment use could significantly improve self-reported hazard awareness and safety.
  • The average annual agricultural fatality rate has decreased by 1.4% each year since 1990.1

Awareness and preparation of on-farm health and safety is increasing. A focus on training and access to proper safety equipment would be beneficial.


Labour Management in the Beef Industry

Labour management refers to the working conditions of individuals working throughout the supply chain and how these conditions contribute to human health, sustainable workplaces and communities.

Industry stakeholders display a clear recognition in the value of hired labour and the need for continuous improvement in socially responsible recruitment and retention practices, such as benefits and wages, and professional development opportunities.
 
The labour gap in the Canadian beef industry grew by 4,196 workers between 2017 and 2022 and is forecast to increase to 13,998 by 2029.
 

Results suggest that challenges around labour availability, recruitment and retention are increasing workload levels with potential negative repercussions on people working in the industry. Policies and programs to support affected stakeholders to mitigate these challenges would alleviate the risks.

Physical and Mental Health are Important

Health and safety at work concerns the promotion and maintenance of the highest degree of physical, mental and social well-being, and capabilities of all individuals involved in business operations, including employees but also producers and the people living on the farm.

Workload is ranked among the top 5 stressors for beef farmers.

Positive conversations around stress and mental health have increased, building awareness and reducing the stigma of mental health challenges.

Organizations such as Do More Ag, among many others, are increasing resources to help farmers, and more widespread accessibility to these resources will help producers across the country.

Canadian Beef and Job Creation

Economic sustainability is defined as the ability of a system to maintain productivity in the face of a major disturbance, as well as shifts in consumer preferences.

Research suggests that for every worker employed by farm-level production of cattle in Canada, 2.5 workers are employed either directly or indirectly in the Canadian economy. And for every worker employed in the Canadian meat packing industry, another 3.4 workers are employed, including direct and indirect employment.

As such, the sustainability of the beef industry is imperative for the well-being and
livelihoods of thousands of Canadians employed throughout the value chain as well as the millions of Canadian consumers demanding safe, high quality, and nutritious protein options.

Canadian Beef in Demand

Consumer resilience is the ability of consumers to support the Canadian beef supply chain, despite challenges that may occur.

Consumer demand is the ultimate driver for the long-term development of the cattle industry. A sustainable cattle industry evolves with the consumer market and responds to changes in consumer preferences. This includes identifying fads that have become trends and ensuring the systems are set up to respond to those consumer demands.

Long-term trends, medium-term perceptions, and short-term market impacts were assessed in determining consumer demand for Canadian beef.

Long-term trends: a growing middle class and shifting consumer demographics with more urbanization;

Medium-term perceptions are impacted by food awareness, including perceptions of food safety, beef quality, nutrition and healthfulness of beef.

Short-term shifts may be due to prices and availability of substitute protein options.

There is strong global demand for protein in general with growth of the population and disposable income, and strong choice for traditional animal-based protein. In North America we have seen a peak of alternative proteins and demand is now decreasing. Canadian beef producers are supporting demand through increased volumes of Canadian AAA and Prime produced beef.

Canadian Beef’s Contribution to the Canadian Economy

The Canadian cattle industry is a key contributor to the Canadian economy:

  • $51.6 billion in production of goods and services,
  • $21.8 billion to the Canadian GDP and
  • $11.7 billion in labour income annually.

As such, the sustainability of the beef industry is imperative for the well-being and livelihoods of thousands of Canadians employed throughout the value chain as well as the millions of Canadian consumers demanding safe, high quality, and nutritious protein options.