Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee was formed in 2017 with a mandate to provide scientific analysis, advice, and supporting information regarding beef sustainability to the CRSB.

The committee has three main responsibilities and objectives:

  1. To oversee CRSB’s research priorities to be completed before the next National Beef Sustainability Assessment (NBSA)
  2. Support the technical reports that CRSB publishes
  3. Provide reference materials for the CRSB Council and members to consider prior to acting on sustainability efforts.

Committee Members

  • Shannon Argent, Olds College (CHAIR)
  • Christian Artuso, Bird Studies Canada
  • Pascal Badiou, Ducks Unlimited Canada
  • Reynold Bergen, Beef Cattle Research Council
  • Karen Beauchemin, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
  • Melodie Chan, Zoetis
  • Brad Downey, Alberta Conservation Association
  • Graeme Finn, Foothills Forage and Grazing Association
  • Melissa Freeman, West Central Forage Association
  • Getahun Gizaw, University of Manitoba
  • Kerrianne Koehler-Munro, Alberta Agriculture and Forestry
  • Tim McAllister, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Karen Schwartzkopf-Geinswein,¬†Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Kevin Teneycke, Nature Conservancy Canada
  • Christoph Wand, University of Guelph
  • Grant Zalinko, Saskatchewan Ministry of Agriculture