Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee provides scientific analysis, advice and supporting information regarding beef sustainability to the CRSB.  The Committee has three main responsibilities:

  1. Oversee CRSB’s research priorities in line with the National Beef Sustainability Assessment (NBSA);
  2. Oversee technical reports that the CRSB produces; and
  3. Provide reference material for the CRSB to consider prior to acting on sustainability efforts.

Committee Terms of Reference


Requests for Letters of Support

The Canadian Roundtable for Sustainable Beef (CRSB) does not fund research, but is occasionally asked to provide letters of support for research initiatives.  Letters of support can help encourage other funders to support research that is aligned with the CRSB Research Priorities.

The committee will consider requests for letters of support.  Please find a link below to CRSB's policy regarding these requests.  If you are a researcher seeking support for a project, please consult this policy and contact us at

 CRSB Policy regarding requests for letters of support for research initiatives


Committee Members

Shannon ArgentChair: Shannon Argent, Olds College

  • Dr. Christian Artuso, Bird Studies Canada
  • Dr. Pascal Badiou, Ducks Unlimited Canada
  • Dr. Reynold Bergen, Beef Cattle Research Council
  • Dr. Karen Beauchemin, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Brad Downey, Alberta Conservation Association
  • Dr. Dorothy Erickson, Zoetis
  • Graeme Finn, Foothills Forage Association
  • Melissa Freeman, West Central Forage Association
  • Dr. Getahun Gizaw, Government of Manitoba
  • Kerrianne Koehler-Munro, Alberta Agriculture and Forestry
  • Dr. Tim McAllister, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Dr. Karen Schwartzkopf-Genswein, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Kevin Teneycke, Nature Conservancy of Canada
  • Christoph Wand, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Development
  • Dr. Katie Wood, University of Guelph
  • Grant Zalinko, Saskatchewan Ministry of Agriculture